Cordless pin nailers make small trim and delicate woodworking jobs easier without an air hose, but battery platforms, kit contents, and tool size can change which model fits best. My best overall pick is the DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer Kit, which pairs a brushless tool with a battery and charger. The FLEX 24V kit also stands out as a ready-to-work package, while the Milwaukee M12 may suit buyers who value a smaller battery platform. The main tradeoff is whether to prioritize a complete kit, compatibility with batteries you already own, or a compact tool body. Read on for the full breakdown, plus guidance on choosing pins and matching a nailer to your projects.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DEWALT ATOMIC kit and bare tool share a platform but serve different budgets and setups: the kit includes a battery and charger, while the renewed bare tool makes more sense if you already have compatible batteries and accept its renewed condition.
- Kit contents are a major separator in this group. FLEX, DEWALT‘s DCN623D1, CRAFTSMAN‘s CMCN623C1, and Metabo HPT are listed as kits, while many other options are tool-only; compare the full battery-and-charger cost before choosing.
- Brushless motors appear across several picks, not just premium models. FLEX, Bosch, DEWALT, CRAFTSMAN‘s RP model, and Garriotec list brushless designs, so motor type alone does not settle the choice.
- Battery compatibility may matter more than a small feature difference. RYOBI, RIDGID, Makita, Milwaukee, and the other platform-specific models make the most sense when their batteries already serve the buyer’s workshop.
- All 12 are 23-gauge pin nailers, but they are not interchangeable in every project. Delicate trim and temporary positioning suit pins; buyers needing stronger holding power should plan for a brad nailer or another fastening method.
| cordless pin nailer | Model | Included components | Voltage | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| FLEX 24V Brushless Cordless 23 | FX4341-1A | Nailer, 2.5Ah battery, 160W fast charger, belt clip, three no-mar tips, and bag | 24 volts | — |
| Bosch GNH18V-35N 18V Brushless | GNH18V-35N | Pin nailer and two no-mar contact tips | 18 volts | Five-year limited warranty |
| DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushles | DCN623B | DCN623 nailer | — | 90-day limited warranty |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 23- | CMCN623 | Pin nailer only; battery and charger sold separately | — | 3-year limited warranty |
| Garriotec 21V MAX Brushless 23 | 23GA pin nail gun | Pin nailer, battery, charger, carrying case, and user manual | 21V MAX | — |
| RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless AirStr | PCL310B | — | 18V | 30-day limited warranty |
| CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless 23-Gaug | CMCN623C1 | Pin nailer, battery, charger | — | — |
| DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushles | DCN623D1 | Pin nailer, battery, charger | 20V MAX | — |
| RIDGID 18V Cordless 23-Gauge 1 | R09898B | — | 18V | — |
| Makita XTP02Z 18V LXT Cordless | XTP02Z | Two no-mar nose tips, belt clip, hex wrench, safety glasses | 18V | 3-year limited warranty |
| Metabo HPT NP1835DA 18V Cordle | NP1835DA | Battery, charger, 2 no-mar caps, safety glasses | — | 5-year tool, 2-year battery, 1-year charger |
| Milwaukee M12 23-Gauge Pin Nai | 2540-20 | — | — | 3-year limited power tool warranty |
More Details on Our Top Picks
FLEX 24V Brushless Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer Kit with 2.5Ah Battery and 160W Fast Charger
I’d put the FLEX first for buyers who want a ready-to-work kit and expect to drive pins through a long trim or cabinetry session. Its included 2.5Ah battery and fast charger remove the extra purchase needed with the Bosch GNH18V-35N, while the claimed up to 3,300 nails per charge gives a useful runtime benchmark. Adjustable depth, bump and sequential firing modes, and tool-free jam clearance offer more ways to adapt to the task than the listed CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP, whose supplied details focus on jam release and LED lighting. The tradeoff is substantial: at 10.76 pounds, this is a heavier option for overhead or prolonged one-handed work. It also remains a dedicated 23-gauge nailer, not a flexible fastener choice.
Pros:- Includes a 2.5Ah battery, 160W fast charger, bag, belt clip, and three no-mar tips.
- Rated for up to 3,300 nails per charge and up to three nails per second.
- Adjustable depth and bump or sequential firing modes suit different fastening tasks.
- Dry-fire lockout, dual LED worklights, and tool-free jam clearance support controlled work.
Cons:- Listed weight of 10.76 pounds may tire users during extended or overhead fastening.
- Limited to 23-gauge pin nails.
- Its 24V platform may be less convenient for buyers already committed to another battery system.
Best for: Trim carpenters and serious DIYers who want a battery, charger, firing modes, and accessories included for frequent pin-nailing jobs.
Not ideal for: Buyers who prioritize a lightweight tool for overhead detailing, or anyone seeking a nailer that accepts more than 23-gauge pins.
- Model:FX4341-1A
- Nail gauge:23 gauge
- Compatible nail length:5/8 to 1-1/2 inches
- Voltage:24 volts
- Battery capacity:2.5Ah
- Nails per charge:Up to 3,300
- Nailing speed:Up to 3 nails per second
- Weight:10.76 pounds
- Included components:Nailer, 2.5Ah battery, 160W fast charger, belt clip, three no-mar tips, and bag
Our verdict“Choose the FLEX if you want a well-equipped kit with stated high-capacity runtime, and skip it if low weight matters most.”
Bosch GNH18V-35N 18V Brushless 23-Gauge Cordless Pin Nailer
The Bosch stands apart for its 3.7-pound listed weight, making it the clearest choice here for users who value a more manageable tool during detail work. Compared with the FLEX kit, it gives up the included battery, charger, and stated nails-per-charge figure, but its lower listed weight may matter more when fastening trim overhead or moving around a jobsite. Bosch includes two no-mar contact tips, and depth control, dry-fire lockout, and an LED help support careful placement. The 110-pin magazine also means fewer reloads between short runs. I’d favor it over the renewed DEWALT ATOMIC listing for shoppers who want a new-tool package description and a stated five-year limited warranty. The catch is that battery and charger are sold separately, so it makes most sense for Bosch 18V owners.
Pros:- Listed weight of 3.7 pounds favors extended or overhead detail work.
- Brushless motor, depth adjustment, and dry-fire lockout support controlled fastening.
- Includes two no-mar contact tips and a belt hook.
- 110-pin magazine reduces interruptions for reloading.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- Limited to 23-gauge pins.
- No runtime-per-charge figure is provided in the supplied product details.
Best for: Bosch 18V users doing finish carpentry or detail work who want a comparatively light pin nailer and already own compatible batteries.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a complete kit, or anyone who needs a stated runtime figure before choosing.
- Model:GNH18V-35N
- Voltage:18 volts
- Motor:Brushless
- Nail gauge:23 gauge
- Magazine capacity:110 pins
- Weight:3.7 pounds
- Included components:Pin nailer and two no-mar contact tips
- Battery and charger:Sold separately
- Warranty:Five-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Pick the Bosch for a lighter bare tool if you already own Bosch 18V batteries; choose the FLEX instead for a complete kit.”
DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer (Bare Tool, Renewed, DCN623B)
This renewed DEWALT makes the most sense as a platform-specific add-on: buyers with compatible 20V MAX batteries can use its cordless, brushless design without adding another battery system. Its compact listed dimensions give it a smaller stated footprint than the FLEX, although the supplied details don’t provide a weight for a direct handling comparison. Against the Bosch GNH18V-35N, the key distinction is ecosystem rather than a clear feature advantage: both are brushless 23-gauge bare tools, and both leave the battery and charger out. The significant compromise is that this unit is renewed and carries a listed 90-day limited warranty, shorter than the Bosch’s stated five-year limited warranty. I’d treat it as a platform match, not the safest choice for buyers who want a longer warranty or a new, complete kit.
Pros:- Brushless motor and cordless operation suit portable trim and finish work.
- Compatible with the DEWALT 20V MAX battery platform.
- Compact listed dimensions of 10.2 x 3.75 x 9.6 inches.
- A platform-specific alternative to buying into Bosch 18V or FLEX 24V.
Cons:- Renewed condition may not suit buyers seeking a new tool.
- Battery and charger are not listed as included.
- Listed warranty is limited to 90 days.
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who want a compact-format cordless pin nailer as an additional tool and can accept renewed condition.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a battery and charger in the box, prefer a new tool, or want a longer stated warranty.
- Model:DCN623B
- Condition:Renewed
- Nail gauge:23 gauge
- Battery platform:DEWALT 20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Dimensions:10.2 x 3.75 x 9.6 inches
- Included components:DCN623 nailer
- Warranty:90-day limited warranty
Our verdict“Consider this DEWALT only if you already own 20V MAX batteries and accept a renewed bare tool with a short listed warranty.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP 23-Gauge Pin Nailer (Bare Tool, CMCN623B)
I’d choose the CRAFTSMAN V20 Brushless RP for a buyer already invested in CRAFTSMAN’s V20 system who wants a straightforward pin nailer for trim and finish tasks. Its 5/8–1-3/8-inch nail range covers common pin lengths, while a tool-free jam release can reduce pauses when a fastener binds. The LED is a practical aid in dim corners, though the supplied details don’t list firing modes, magazine capacity, or runtime figures. Compared with the FLEX, this is a much less complete purchase: it arrives as a bare tool, and the FLEX includes a battery, charger, and several accessories. It also accepts a shorter maximum pin length than the FLEX’s 1-1/2-inch limit. The three-year limited warranty gives it a defined support period, but the battery and charger remain extra requirements.
Pros:- Brushless motor is designed for improved runtime and performance.
- Tool-free jam release helps reduce interruption when clearing a jam.
- LED work light illuminates the fastening area.
- Accepts 23-gauge pins from 5/8 to 1-3/8 inches.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- Maximum listed nail length is shorter than the FLEX’s 1-1/2-inch capacity.
- Supplied details do not state magazine capacity or nails per charge.
Best for: CRAFTSMAN V20 owners who need a brushless 23-gauge nailer for trim and finish work and already have batteries and a charger.
Not ideal for: Buyers starting a cordless platform or fastening with pins longer than 1-3/8 inches; the FLEX kit is more complete and takes longer pins.
- Model:CMCN623
- Fastener type:23-gauge pin nails
- Compatible nail length:5/8 to 1-3/8 inches
- Power type:Cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Jam release:Tool-free
- Included components:Pin nailer only; battery and charger sold separately
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“This is a sensible bare-tool choice for CRAFTSMAN V20 owners, but the FLEX is a better fit if you need a complete kit or longer pins.”
Garriotec 21V MAX Brushless 23-Gauge Cordless Pin Nailer Kit
The Garriotec is the straightforward kit pick for buyers who want the core cordless setup included without moving to the FLEX package’s heavier listed weight. It comes with a 2.0Ah battery, charger, and carrying case, and its listed 5-pound weight sits well below the FLEX’s 10.76 pounds. That makes it a more appealing spec-sheet option for users who expect to carry the tool around a room or handle occasional overhead fastening. Tool-free depth adjustment and jam clearing, a safety lock, and an LED cover useful day-to-day controls. However, the supplied details give no runtime or charging-time figures, unlike FLEX’s stated capacity of up to 3,300 nails per charge. I’d choose Garriotec for its included essentials and lighter listed weight, but buyers who need documented runtime or an established battery platform may prefer another option.
Pros:- Includes a 2.0Ah battery, charger, and carrying case.
- Listed 5-pound weight is substantially below the FLEX’s listed weight.
- Tool-free depth adjustment and jam clearing simplify routine setup and maintenance.
- Safety lock and LED work light support controlled use in dim areas.
Cons:- Battery runtime and charging time are not specified.
- Limited to 23-gauge pins.
- The listed battery capacity is smaller than the FLEX kit’s 2.5Ah battery.
Best for: DIYers and occasional trim installers who want a battery, charger, and case included, with a lower listed weight than the FLEX.
Not ideal for: High-volume users who need a stated nails-per-charge figure, or buyers who prefer a cordless tool tied to a familiar battery platform.
- Model:23GA pin nail gun
- Voltage:21V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Nail gauge:23 gauge
- Battery:2.0Ah lithium-ion, included
- Weight:5 pounds
- Included components:Pin nailer, battery, charger, carrying case, and user manual
- Features:Tool-free jam clearing and depth adjustment, safety lock, and LED work light
Our verdict“Choose Garriotec for an included battery-and-charger kit with a lower listed weight, but favor FLEX if stated runtime matters more.”
RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless AirStrike 23-Gauge Pin Nailer (Tool Only)
The RYOBI ONE+ AirStrike is most compelling for buyers already invested in RYOBI’s 18V battery platform. Its cordless design suits small repair and trim jobs where setting up an air hose would be more nuisance than help, and the listed 4.3-pound weight is lighter than the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit. That weight advantage may appeal for overhead or detail work, though the supplied data gives less detail about nail-length range and operating features than the DEWALT ATOMIC kit. This is a tool-only purchase, so its value depends on already owning a compatible battery and charger; newcomers must add both. I’d choose it for basic portability within an existing ONE+ setup, not for buyers seeking a ready-to-work kit or a well-documented feature set.
Pros:- Cordless 18V format avoids an air hose and compressor.
- At 4.3 pounds, it is lighter than the listed CRAFTSMAN V20 kit.
- Intended for both nailing and repair tasks.
- Fits naturally into an existing RYOBI ONE+ tool setup.
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately.
- Provided product details do not specify compatible pin lengths or operating features.
- Includes only a 30-day limited warranty.
Best for: RYOBI ONE+ owners who need a relatively light cordless pin nailer for occasional trim, nailing, and repair tasks.
Not ideal for: Buyers without a compatible RYOBI battery and charger, or those who want detailed nail-length and feature specifications before choosing.
- Model:PCL310B
- Voltage:18V
- Power source:Battery powered
- Weight:4.3 lb
- Noise level:85 dB
- Recommended uses:Nailing and repair
- Battery and charger:Sold separately
- Warranty:30-day limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the RYOBI if you already own ONE+ batteries and want a lighter tool for occasional pin-nailing jobs, but look to the DEWALT kit for more documented features and included power.”
CRAFTSMAN V20 Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer Kit with Battery and Charger (CMCN623C1)
The CRAFTSMAN V20 kit makes a straightforward choice for someone starting without a compatible battery: a 20V battery and charger are included, alongside useful features such as a tool-free jam release and LED work light. Its brushless motor is intended to support runtime and performance, while the DEWALT ATOMIC kit offers a longer maximum pin length—1-1/2 inches versus CRAFTSMAN’s 1-3/8. That difference may matter when trim or assembly calls for longer fasteners. The tradeoff is a 6.21-pound listed weight, which makes this a less appealing pick for extended overhead work than the lighter RYOBI. Its nail range is clearly defined, but it remains limited to 23-gauge pins. I’d favor it when included power and practical jobsite features matter more than the lightest possible setup or extra reach.
Pros:- Includes a 20V 1.5Ah battery and charger.
- Brushless motor is designed to support runtime and performance.
- Tool-free jam release can reduce interruptions when a fastener jams.
- LED work light helps illuminate detail areas.
Cons:- Accepts pins only from 5/8 to 1-3/8 inches, shorter than the DEWALT ATOMIC kit’s maximum.
- Listed weight of 6.21 pounds may feel burdensome during extended overhead use.
- Limited to 23-gauge pin nails.
Best for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who want a complete 23-gauge pin nailer kit for trim and detail projects.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need pins longer than 1-3/8 inches or prioritize a lighter tool for long overhead sessions.
- Model:CMCN623C1
- Nail gauge:23
- Compatible nail length:5/8–1-3/8 in.
- Motor:Brushless
- Battery:20V 1.5Ah lithium-ion, included
- Charger:Included
- Item weight:6.21 lb
- Included components:Pin nailer, battery, charger
Our verdict“Pick the CRAFTSMAN kit if you want included battery and charger with useful jobsite features, but choose the DEWALT ATOMIC for longer pin capacity.”
DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer Kit (DCN623D1)
The DEWALT ATOMIC kit earns my overall pick by pairing a useful pin-length range with a strong set of practical controls and included power. It drives 23-gauge pins from 5/8 to 1-1/2 inches, extending farther than the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit’s 1-3/8-inch limit, while tool-free depth adjustment helps adapt fastening to delicate trim. A jam release, low-nail lockout with LED indicator, and an included 2.0Ah battery and charger make it a more complete package than the tool-only RYOBI or RIDGID. The stated average of 2,000 nails per charge gives buyers a useful runtime reference, though actual results can vary with the work. It still handles only 23-gauge pins, so it is not a substitute for a larger-gauge nailer when stronger fastening is required.
Pros:- Drives 23-gauge pins from 5/8 to 1-1/2 inches, longer than the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit.
- Includes a 2.0Ah battery and charger.
- Tool-free jam release and depth adjustment simplify job changes and clearing jams.
- Low-nail lockout with LED indicator and stated average of 2,000 nails per charge.
Cons:- Limited to 23-gauge pins from 5/8 to 1-1/2 inches.
- Buyers with compatible DEWALT batteries may be paying for kit components they do not need.
- The stated nails-per-charge figure is an average, not a guarantee for every material or job.
Best for: Trim and remodeling buyers who want a ready-to-use cordless kit, longer pin reach, and controls for depth, jams, and low nails.
Not ideal for: People who need larger-gauge fasteners or already own a compatible battery and would rather buy a bare tool.
- Model:DCN623D1
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Fastener gauge:23 Ga.
- Fastener length:5/8–1-1/2 in.
- Nails per charge:2,000 average
- Battery:2.0Ah lithium-ion, included
- Included components:Pin nailer, battery, charger
Our verdict“Choose the DEWALT ATOMIC kit for the most rounded ready-to-work package here, especially if its 1-1/2-inch pin capacity suits your trim jobs.”
RIDGID 18V Cordless 23-Gauge 1-3/8-Inch Headless Pin Nailer (Tool Only), R09898B
The RIDGID R09898B is a focused option for people already using RIDGID 18V tools and looking for a cordless way to drive 23-gauge headless pins. Its maximum pin length of 1-3/8 inches matches the CRAFTSMAN V20 kit’s upper limit but falls short of the DEWALT ATOMIC’s 1-1/2-inch reach. The supplied details establish its voltage and fastener capacity, but do not list conveniences such as a jam release, depth adjustment, battery runtime, or included accessories. That makes it harder to compare on jobsite control features than the DEWALT or the Makita XTP02Z, which specifies depth adjustment and an anti-dry-fire mechanism. The tool-only package also leaves battery and charger needs unresolved. I’d shortlist it for an existing RIDGID setup, while buyers wanting a fully specified kit should look elsewhere.
Pros:- Cordless 18V design avoids a compressor and air hose.
- Uses 23-gauge headless pins.
- Accepts pins up to 1-3/8 inches long.
- Bare-tool format may suit buyers already equipped with RIDGID 18V batteries.
Cons:- Tool-only package does not specify a battery or charger as included.
- Maximum 1-3/8-inch pin length is shorter than the DEWALT ATOMIC’s 1-1/2-inch capacity.
- Provided product details do not list controls, runtime, or included accessories.
Best for: RIDGID 18V owners who need a bare cordless tool for routine trim work using pins no longer than 1-3/8 inches.
Not ideal for: New cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger, or shoppers who want confirmed jam, depth, and runtime features.
- Model:R09898B
- Voltage:18V
- Fastener type:Pin
- Gauge:23
- Maximum fastener length:1-3/8 in.
- Package contents:Tool only
- Manufacturer:Emerson Tool Company
Our verdict“Choose the RIDGID if you already own its 18V batteries and need a basic pin nailer up to 1-3/8 inches, but favor the DEWALT or Makita for more documented features.”
Makita XTP02Z 18V LXT Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer, 1-3/8-Inch, Tool Only
The Makita XTP02Z stands apart through its specified fastener options: it accepts six pin lengths from 5/8 to 1-3/8 inches, giving trim workers more choice than the single maximum-length detail provided for the RIDGID. Its magazine holds up to 120 pins, while tool-free depth adjustment, anti-dry-fire protection, and a reduced-recoil firing mechanism address practical concerns during finish work. The listed runtime—up to 5,300 pins per charge with an 18V LXT 5.0Ah battery—depends on using that battery and should be read as a stated maximum, not a universal result. Compared with the DEWALT ATOMIC kit, the Makita stops at 1-3/8 inches and requires a separately purchased battery and charger. Its included nose tips and other accessories add utility, but not a ready-to-fire power source.
Pros:- Accepts six pin lengths from 5/8 to 1-3/8 inches.
- Magazine capacity of up to 120 pins reduces reload frequency.
- Tool-free depth adjustment and anti-dry-fire mechanism support controlled finish work.
- Reduced-recoil firing mechanism and two no-mar nose tips suit delicate surfaces.
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included.
- Maximum pin length is 1-3/8 inches, shorter than the DEWALT ATOMIC’s 1-1/2-inch reach.
- Does not accept 1-1/4-inch pin nails.
Best for: Makita 18V LXT owners who regularly switch among pin lengths for molding, trim, and other finish work.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need 1-1/2-inch pins or want a complete kit with battery and charger included.
- Model:XTP02Z
- Voltage:18V
- Nail gauge:23
- Compatible nail lengths:5/8, 11/16, 3/4, 1, 1-3/16, and 1-3/8 in.
- Magazine capacity:Up to 120 pin nails
- Battery runtime:Up to 5,300 pins per charge with an 18V LXT 5.0Ah battery
- Features:Anti-dry fire, tool-free depth adjustment, reduced-recoil firing mechanism
- Included components:Two no-mar nose tips, belt clip, hex wrench, safety glasses
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the Makita if you already own LXT batteries and value several pin-length options and finish-focused controls over the DEWALT’s longer reach and included battery.”
Metabo HPT NP1835DA 18V Cordless 23-Gauge Pin Nailer Kit
The NP1835DA is a strong fit for trim carpenters who want a ready-to-work cordless pin nailer rather than a bare tool. Its kit includes an 18V battery, charger, no-mar caps, and safety glasses, while the mechanical spring drive handles pins up to 1-3/8 inches for moldings and glued joints. The fine-tip nose helps place fasteners accurately, and dry-fire lockout reduces empty shots near the end of a strip. Compared with the Milwaukee M12 2540-20, this Metabo HPT arrives with its battery and charger and lists capacity for up to 2,700 nails per charge, though the Milwaukee is lighter at 3 pounds. The tradeoff is a double-trigger operation that may feel less natural at first, along with a 3.6-pound tool weight. I’d choose it for a complete kit, not for the lightest handling.
Pros:- Includes an 18V 2.0Ah battery and charger, so no separate power purchase is needed to start
- Drives five listed pin lengths up to 1-3/8 inches for varied trim and joinery tasks
- Fine-tip nose and dry-fire lockout support controlled placement and help avoid empty firing
- Listed capacity of up to 2,700 nails per charge suits longer stretches of detail work
Cons:- At 3.6 pounds, it is heavier than the Milwaukee M12 model listed at 3 pounds
- Double-trigger operation may take practice for users accustomed to a single-trigger nailer
- Its 23-gauge format is intended for delicate fastening, not structural or heavy holding work
Best for: DIY trim installers and finish carpenters who need a complete 18V kit for occasional or ongoing molding and cabinet work.
Not ideal for: Buyers already invested in Milwaukee M12 batteries who want a lighter bare tool, or anyone who prefers a simpler trigger operation.
- Model:NP1835DA
- Fastener gauge:23-gauge
- Fastener lengths:5/8, 3/4, 1, 1-3/16, and 1-3/8 inches
- Power source:18V battery
- Battery capacity:2.0Ah
- Nails per charge:Up to 2,700
- Weight:3.6 pounds
- Included components:Battery, charger, 2 no-mar caps, safety glasses
- Warranty:5-year tool, 2-year battery, 1-year charger
Our verdict“Choose the Metabo HPT if you want a supplied battery-and-charger kit with long pin capacity, and skip it if low weight or familiar trigger operation matters more.”
Milwaukee M12 23-Gauge Pin Nailer (Bare Tool)
The Milwaukee M12 2540-20 earns its place for buyers who value a compact, 3-pound pin nailer for cabinetry, delicate trim, and work in tight spaces. Its nitrogen air spring mechanism is designed to drive pins flush in hard or softwoods, while tool-free depth adjustment makes it easier to adapt fastening to different materials. The non-marring precision tip and dry-fire lockout help protect finished surfaces and reduce wasted shots. Compared with the Metabo HPT NP1835DA, Milwaukee accepts pins starting at 1/2 inch and weighs less, but the Metabo HPT comes with a battery and charger and lists up to 2,700 pins per charge. Milwaukee’s stated capacity is up to 750 pins with an M12 CP1.5 battery, and that battery is sold separately. I’d favor this model for maneuverability and existing M12 owners, not as a ready-to-use kit.
Pros:- 3-pound weight makes it the lighter option compared with the Metabo HPT NP1835DA
- Accepts 1/2- to 1-3/8-inch pins for a broad range of delicate fastening tasks
- Tool-free depth adjustment helps adapt pin setting without a separate adjustment tool
- Precision tip and dry-fire lockout support careful work on finished surfaces
Cons:- Battery and charger are sold separately
- Listed capacity is up to 750 pins per charge with an M12 CP1.5 battery, below the Metabo HPT’s stated 2,700
- Limited to 23-gauge headless pins, so it is not suited to applications requiring stronger fasteners
Best for: Cabinetmakers and finish carpenters who already own M12 batteries and want a lighter pin nailer for confined or detail-heavy work.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers who need a battery and charger included, or crews prioritizing the Metabo HPT’s listed higher per-charge capacity.
- Model:2540-20
- Tool type:Cordless 23-gauge pin nailer
- Compatible nail length:1/2–1-3/8 inches
- Capacity per charge:Up to 750 pins with an M12 REDLITHIUM CP1.5 battery
- Weight:3 pounds
- Battery:Sold separately
- Drive mechanism:Nitrogen air spring
- Adjustment and protection:Tool-free depth adjustment, dry-fire lockout, non-marring precision tip
- Warranty:3-year limited power tool warranty
Our verdict“Pick the Milwaukee for compact handling and M12 battery compatibility, but choose the Metabo HPT if you need a complete kit or higher listed pin capacity.”

How We Picked
I compared these 12 cordless 23-gauge pin nailers on the factors that most affect ownership: whether a listing includes a battery and charger, the stated motor type, battery-platform fit, and how clearly the product is specified for fine fastening work. I gave practical weight to kit completeness because a tool-only listing can be a poor fit for a first-time buyer, even when the nailer itself is appealing. Platform compatibility also matters: buyers invested in one battery system can often get more value from a compatible bare tool than from a new kit.
The ranking favors useful combinations of accessible setup, established platform fit, and clearly stated features rather than treating every cordless nailer as equivalent. The DEWALT ATOMIC kit leads because it is brushless and supplied with a battery and charger; FLEX also ranks highly as a complete brushless kit. Bare tools remain strong choices for owners of the matching battery system, while listings with fewer details or less familiar platform support rank lower. I do not infer performance claims that are not established by the product information, so buyers should verify pin length, included accessories, and battery compatibility before ordering.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Cordless Pin Nailers
Choosing among cordless pin nailers is less about finding a universal winner and more about matching the tool to your work, batteries, and fastening needs. I would sort out these practical questions before comparing individual models.
Match the Fastener to the Job
A 23-gauge pin leaves a small hole, making it useful for delicate trim, narrow moldings, and holding parts while glue cures. That small fastener is also the limitation: it offers less holding strength than a brad nail, so it is not the right substitute for structural attachment or trim that must stay fixed without adhesive. A common mistake is choosing the least visible fastener without checking whether the material and joint can support it. For heavier pieces, a brad nailer, finish nailer, or a combination of glue and mechanical fastening may be more suitable. Think about the joint and material first, then choose a pin length that can hold without breaking through the surface.
Compare Complete Kits With Your Existing Battery System
A kit can simplify a first purchase by supplying the battery and charger, while a bare tool can be a sensible addition to a workshop already invested in that platform. Do not compare the tool-only listing with a kit as if they were equivalent packages; account for any battery and charger you would need to add. Battery compatibility can also shape how convenient the nailer is on a job: sharing packs with other tools means fewer chargers and less spare equipment to carry. Avoid assuming that batteries from brands with similar voltage labels will fit across platforms. Check the exact battery family and included components in the listing before deciding.
Choose Between a Compact Setup and a Larger Battery Platform
The nailer is often used close to finished surfaces or in tight trim areas, so the whole working setup matters—not just the tool body. A smaller battery platform may appeal when low bulk is a priority, while buyers with larger packs already on hand may prefer to avoid a separate battery system. The tradeoff is that a compact tool is not automatically the best fit if its battery platform adds cost or limits sharing. Consider how long you work between charging opportunities and how often you will use the nailer away from your bench. If possible, compare the tool with the battery attached, since the pack can change balance and access around corners.
Check Pin Length and Magazine Details Before Buying
Pin nailers can differ in the fastener lengths they accept, and the correct range depends on material thickness and the job. A model description that names a maximum length does not by itself tell you which pins are included or which sizes are suitable for your materials. Confirm the supported pin range, magazine capacity, and whether pins are easy to source in the gauge and length you need. Using an unsuitable pin can lead to poor holding or unwanted breakthrough, while a limited supply can interrupt a project. Keep a short list of your regular materials and pin sizes before comparing tool listings.
Weigh Brushless Design Against What You Will Actually Use
Brushless motors are listed on several models here, including options from FLEX, Bosch, DEWALT, CRAFTSMAN’s RP line, and Garriotec. That makes brushless construction a useful distinction, but not a complete purchasing decision: it does not tell you whether the tool fits your battery system, comes with a charger, or handles the pin sizes your work calls for. Paying extra for a feature has less value if the nailer will only come out for occasional small repairs. For frequent trim installation, repeated use and battery sharing may make the added investment easier to justify. Compare the full package and the task fit rather than buying on one motor label alone.
Plan for Glue, Surface Protection, and Finish Work
Pin nails are often used to hold pieces in place while adhesive sets, so the nailer may be only one part of the fastening plan. Glue choice, clamping access, wood movement, and how the finished surface will be filled all affect the result. A tiny pin hole is less visible than many larger fastener holes, but it is not guaranteed to disappear on every finish or material. Practice on an offcut when working with brittle stock or a visible finish, and check that the pin will not split a narrow edge. Buyers who expect a nailer to replace clamping or suitable adhesive may be disappointed even with a well-matched tool.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a cordless pin nailer kit or a bare tool?
Choose a kit if you need the battery and charger, or if you want to start using the nailer without adding components separately. A bare tool can be the more practical choice when you already own compatible batteries and chargers for that exact platform. Compare the items actually included, since two listings for the same nailer can represent very different setups. Also check whether your existing battery will fit the tool and whether its size makes the nailer comfortable for your work. For a first cordless tool, a complete kit usually reduces uncertainty about what else you need.
Can a 23-gauge pin nailer replace my brad nailer?
Usually not as a direct replacement. A pin nailer is suited to delicate work where a small hole matters, and pins can hold pieces in position while adhesive cures. Brad nails provide more holding power for jobs where the fastener must do more of the work. If you are attaching heavier trim or need a joint to remain secure without glue, a brad nailer may be the better fit. Many woodworking setups benefit from keeping both tools for different fastening needs.
Is a brushless cordless pin nailer worth choosing?
It can be a good reason to favor a model when you expect frequent use or already prefer that tool’s battery platform, but the motor label is only one part of the decision. This roundup includes brushless options from several brands, so brushless design does not identify a single clear winner. Compare kit contents, battery compatibility, supported pin sizes, and handling alongside the motor type. For occasional small projects, a compatible tool that is easy to set up may be a better fit than paying extra for a feature you rarely use. Check the complete listing before deciding which model offers the right package for your work.
What should I check before using pins on narrow or delicate trim?
Check the trim thickness, pin length, grain direction, and how close the fastening point is to an edge. A pin that is too long may emerge from the opposite side, while one placed too close to an edge can split delicate stock. Test the setup on a matching offcut and use adhesive or clamping where the joint calls for it. Confirm the nailer’s supported pin range rather than relying on a general product description. When the finished surface is prominent, test the hole visibility and filling method before fastening the final piece.
Which cordless pin nailer should I choose if I already own batteries?
Start with your exact battery platform, then compare compatible bare tools with kits that would add a battery and charger you may not need. The lineup includes tool-only options from brands such as RYOBI, RIDGID, Makita, and Milwaukee, as well as other platform-specific choices. Verify the battery family, not just the voltage printed on the pack, since battery systems are not generally interchangeable across brands. Consider pack size and balance too, especially if you work in confined trim areas. If you do not own compatible batteries, a complete kit may be the simpler route.
Conclusion
For the best overall, I would start with the DEWALT ATOMIC 20V MAX kit: it combines a brushless nailer with a battery and charger, making it a straightforward complete package. The best value depends on what you already own; a compatible bare tool can be the smarter buy for established battery-platform users, while the FLEX 24V kit is a strong alternative for buyers who want a brushless kit. For a beginner, I would favor a kit such as DEWALT, CRAFTSMAN’s CMCN623C1, or Metabo HPT so the battery and charger question is settled. For a premium or frequent-use choice, compare the brushless options and choose the platform that best fits your existing tools and work habits. For specific needs, pick a compact-platform option such as Milwaukee M12 when its battery setup suits your workspace, or choose RYOBI, RIDGID, or Makita when battery compatibility is the priority; whichever you select, confirm pin lengths and package contents first.















