TL;DR
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
The FCC added Matic’s robot vacuum and charging dock to a list of products granted waivers from restrictions on certain foreign-made devices. The move is limited to two models that already had approved radio components; Matic says it assembles its robots in California and is working to source more parts in the United States.
The Federal Communications Commission added Matic’s robot vacuum and charging dock to a waiver list on October 2, making the company’s models the first robovac products named in the list, according to The Verge. The waiver covers the original Matic robot, model 4MA0001, and dock model 4DK0008, although their radio components had already been approved and Matic says it assembles its robots in California.
The waiver allows the FCC to approve the named radio products for import, marketing and sale. But The Verge reports that Matic’s robot did not require a waiver to continue being sold: the FCC restrictions at issue bar certain future products from entering the United States, rather than products whose radios had already been approved.
Matic does not seek FCC approval for the entire robot as a radio device, according to the report. Instead, the robot uses an off-the-shelf Intel AX210 Wi-Fi and Bluetooth card, which has its own FCC approval. The Verge describes it as the same type of wireless card found in desktop and laptop computers. The waiver names two specific models; it does not grant blanket approval for all Matic products.
The company also assembles its robots in Mountain View, California, so the import restrictions are not an immediate obstacle for those robots. Matic co-founder and CEO Mehul Nariyawala told The Verge that the company moved production into its former Mountain View facility and moved its offices to Menlo Park. He said Matic now ships 17,000 robots, compared with 1,500 a year earlier; the report does not specify the period covered by the current figure.
Why the Waiver Could Still Matter
The waiver’s practical effect on the two listed models appears limited because their radios were already approved and the robots are assembled in the United States. Its relevance may grow if FCC rules change or if Matic later seeks to bring new products into the country. Those possibilities are not outcomes guaranteed by the current waiver.
The FCC is reviewing how its restrictions apply and has considered requiring manufacturers to disclose more about the components in their products, The Verge reports. If the agency changes its rules or applies them more strictly, component sourcing and manufacturing location could matter more to companies such as Matic. The specific waiver may offer some protection for the named models, but it does not settle how future products would be treated.
Matic told The Verge that it has not reached the 65 percent domestic-component threshold associated with being considered “Made in the US.” The company says it obtains its core compute platform from Nvidia and uses US suppliers for other critical components when possible. The waiver’s inclusion of the two models could therefore be relevant if a foreign component becomes an issue under future rules, although the report does not establish that any such component currently threatens their approval.
Popular right now

Dyson V8 Cyclone Cordless Vacuum

Dyson Ball Animal 3 Upright Vacuum

Samsung 85-Inch QN70H Neo QLED 4K Smart TV (2026)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How the FCC Listing Fits
The FCC’s restrictions cover certain foreign drones, robots and routers, according to The Verge. The report says the rules prevent future products from being imported, rather than automatically banning devices whose radio equipment received approval earlier. That distinction explains why Matic’s listing drew attention even though the named robot and dock had already cleared the relevant radio approval process.
The report also distinguishes Matic’s waiver from broader company-level approvals granted to router makers Asus and Netgear. The FCC’s action names model 4MA0001 and dock 4DK0008, rather than approving every product sold under the Matic brand. That narrow scope limits what can be inferred about future Matic devices.
Matic says it is expanding domestic production as its shipments grow. Nariyawala told The Verge that, until three months before the report, the company’s research and development offices and production facilities shared a roughly 24,000-square-foot Mountain View site. Matic has since converted that facility to production and moved its office to Menlo Park. The company says it is looking for additional US suppliers, but the report does not detail which components it may shift or when.
Questions Around Future Models
The report does not say whether the waiver will change how the FCC treats future Matic products, particularly models with different radios or manufacturing arrangements. The current listing covers two named models; it is not described as a waiver for the Matic brand as a whole.
It is also unclear what further FCC rule changes may follow, how the agency might enforce them, or whether any particular foreign-sourced component in Matic’s products could affect their status. Matic has said it does not yet meet the 65 percent domestic-component threshold, but the report does not identify a component that has triggered a problem or explain how the waiver would apply if sourcing rules change.
The shipment figures Nariyawala gave—1,500 robots a year earlier and 17,000 now—are company statements reported by The Verge. The report does not specify the exact time window or whether the numbers refer to orders, production or completed shipments. They should not be read as a measured growth rate without that detail.
Matic’s Domestic Sourcing Plans
Matic says it is seeking additional US suppliers so it can rely on fewer foreign components. The company’s next relevant steps are whether it can increase domestic sourcing and how any future products fit the FCC’s rules. The report gives no timeline for reaching the 65 percent threshold or for launching another model.
The FCC is also weighing changes to its restrictions, including possible component disclosure requirements, according to The Verge. Until the agency sets out any final changes and explains how they apply, the practical reach of Matic’s waiver beyond the two listed models remains uncertain.
Key Questions
Which Matic products did the FCC add to its waiver list?
The waiver names the original Matic robot vacuum, model 4MA0001, and its charging dock, model 4DK0008.
Did the Matic robot need the waiver to be sold?
According to The Verge, no. The robot’s Intel AX210 Wi-Fi and Bluetooth card already had FCC approval, and the restrictions described in the report apply to certain future products entering the United States.
Does the waiver cover every Matic product?
No. The FCC listing covers two specific models. The report does not describe it as a blanket approval for the Matic brand or for future models.
Where does Matic assemble its robots?
Matic says it assembles its robots in Mountain View, California. CEO Mehul Nariyawala told The Verge that the company converted its former shared office and production facility into a production site.
What remains uncertain about the FCC action?
The report does not establish how the waiver will affect future Matic products or how pending FCC changes may affect component sourcing. The current waiver is limited to the two named models.
Source: rss
