The best DeWalt tools depend on whether you need one dependable daily tool, a coordinated kit, or a specialty solution. I’d make the 20V MAX drill and impact driver combo kit (DCK240C2) my best overall pick for its useful two-tool starting point, while the 10-tool combo kit suits buyers who need broad coverage and the brushless 3-speed impact driver favors controlled fastening. The main tradeoff is buying a ready-to-work kit with batteries and a charger versus choosing bare tools for specific tasks and adding batteries separately. Platform compatibility, included accessories, and tool specialization can matter as much as raw capability. Read on for the full breakdown and a guide to choosing the setup that fits your work.
Get business pricing on tools and workshop supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The drill and impact driver combo is the strongest starting point: it covers two common jobs in one kit, while a drill-only kit leaves fastening work to a second purchase.
- Large combo kits trade simplicity for breadth: the 9-tool and 10-tool bundles can cover varied tasks, but buyers should check which tools they will actually use and what batteries are included.
- Brushless models favor frequent or demanding work: the XR jigsaw, orbital sander, multi-tools, and impact driver add specialized capability, though several are bare tools that need a compatible battery.
- Specialty tools solve narrow problems: the drywall cut-out tool, compact blower, high-torque impact wrench, and sealed head ratchet make more sense when their particular task comes up often.
- The 4V screwdriver belongs in a different role: its USB charging and bit set suit light household fastening, while the 20V drill and impact tools are better for heavier work and broader applications.
| DeWalt tool | Voltage | Motor |
|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Co | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | — | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Osc | — | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Dr | 20 volts | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordles | — | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower | 20 V | — |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Os | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3- | 20V MAX | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordl | — | Brushless |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Sea | 20V MAX | — |
| DEWALT Cordless Screwdriver | 4V | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver Kit (DCD771C2)
The DCD771C2 is the straightforward choice for someone who needs a cordless drill and wants the essentials in one kit. Its 300 UWO motor and two speed ranges cover routine drilling and fastening, while the compact body is easier to maneuver in cabinets or other tight spots than a larger combo setup. Unlike the DCK240C2, it does not include an impact driver, so it is less versatile for driving many fasteners quickly. In return, its simpler tool selection makes sense for buyers who mainly drill holes and handle occasional assembly. The two 1.3Ah batteries let you keep one charging, but they offer less runtime than higher-capacity packs. This is a practical home and light-duty pick, not a masonry or industrial drill.
Pros:- Compact, lightweight body is easier to handle in tight spaces
- Two speed ranges support both fastening and general drilling
- Includes two batteries, charger, and contractor bag
- Ergonomic handle supports controlled everyday use
Cons:- Not intended for concrete or masonry drilling
- 1.3Ah batteries need more frequent charging than higher-capacity packs
- Lacks the impact driver included with the DCK240C2 combo
Best for: Homeowners and DIYers who need a compact drill for furniture assembly, wood projects, and routine repairs.
Not ideal for: Tradespeople drilling masonry or fastening throughout long work shifts; it is not designed for those demands, and its included batteries have modest capacity.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor power:300 UWO
- Speed settings:2
- Speed range:0–450 and 0–1,500 RPM
- Chuck:1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting
- Batteries:2 XR 1.3Ah lithium-ion
- Included:Batteries, charger, contractor bag
- Model:DCD771C2
Our verdict“Choose the DCD771C2 for a compact, ready-to-use drill kit for everyday home projects, and choose the DCK240C2 if you also need an impact driver.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Jig Saw (DCS334B), Bare Tool
For cutouts and curves where a circular saw is too blunt an instrument, the DCS334B jig saw gives the lineup a more controlled cutting option. Its four-position orbital action lets the buyer favor faster, more aggressive cuts or a smoother finish, while the variable speed controls help adapt to different materials. Tool-free blade and bevel adjustments also make angle changes less fiddly than a setup that requires extra tools. Compared with the DCS356D1 oscillating multi-tool, this is the better fit for following longer curves through sheet material; the multi-tool is more suited to flush cuts and detail work. The main catch is the bare-tool package: battery and charger are not included. Buyers without 20V MAX batteries should account for that before choosing it.
Pros:- Four orbital settings let users balance cutting speed and finish
- Variable speed control adapts to different cutting tasks
- Tool-free blade changes and bevel adjustments simplify setup
- LED and dust blower help keep the cut area visible
Cons:- Bare tool package excludes battery and charger
- Jig saw blade path is less suited to flush cuts than the DCS356D1 multi-tool
- Supplied blade-speed figure has no unit stated in the product data
Best for: Woodworkers and remodelers who already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and need controlled curved cuts or interior cutouts.
Not ideal for: First-time cordless-tool buyers without compatible batteries, or anyone mainly needing flush trimming and detail sanding.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Blade speed:Up to 3,200 (unit not specified)
- Orbital action:4 positions
- Bevel detents:0°, 15°, 30°, and 45°
- Blade type:T-shank
- Adjustments:Tool-free blade and bevel adjustments
- Package:Bare tool only
Our verdict“Pick the DCS334B if you already have 20V MAX batteries and need a versatile saw for curves, cutouts, and bevel work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Random Orbital Sander, Tool Only (DCW210B)
The DCW210B brings finish sanding to a cordless 20V MAX setup, with a low profile that helps keep the pad close to the work for better control. Its 8,000–12,000 OPM variable range gives buyers room to adjust for different materials and sanding needs. That makes it a more surface-focused choice than the DCS334B jig saw, which is built for cutting rather than smoothing; the sander earns its place when repeated finishing work is part of the job. A locking dust bag is included, and the port can connect to specified DEWALT collectors. Still, this is a tool-only purchase, and the dust collector and replacement pads are separate. Buyers who need extensive dust management should plan around that extra equipment.
Pros:- Variable speed suits different sanding tasks
- Low-profile design supports precise pad control
- Brushless motor is designed for efficient operation
- Locking dust bag and collector-compatible port support dust collection
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Dust collectors and universal quick connector are sold separately
- Replacement sanding pads are sold separately
Best for: Cabinetmakers, furniture DIYers, and remodelers who already own 20V MAX batteries and want cordless sanding control.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a complete sanding and dust-extraction setup in one package, or those who do not have a compatible battery.
- Model:DCW210B
- Power:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed:8,000–12,000 OPM
- Sanding pad:Replaceable 8-hole hook-and-loop
- Dust collection:One-handed locking dust bag
- Dust port compatibility:DWV010 and DWV012 collectors
- Package:Tool only
Our verdict“Choose the DCW210B for cordless finish sanding and speed adjustment, provided you already have a battery and have planned for dust collection.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Oscillating Multi-Tool Kit (DCS356D1)
The DCS356D1 is the most task-flexible starter pick here: its oscillating platform can handle cuts, scraping, and sanding by changing attachments. The tool-free Quick-Change system makes those switches easier when a repair moves from trimming to cleanup, while the three-speed selector and variable trigger let the user moderate the tool for the material. Compared with the DCS334B jig saw, it is better for short flush cuts and tight detail work, though it is not the natural choice for longer sweeping cuts. This kit also includes a battery, charger, blades, and sandpaper, giving it an out-of-box advantage over the bare-tool jig saw and sander. Its broad usefulness comes with a tradeoff: it is a general-purpose fixer, not a dedicated specialist for any one operation.
Pros:- Brushless motor is specified for up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor
- Quick-Change system swaps compatible accessories without a wrench
- Three-speed selector and variable trigger allow speed adjustment
- Kit includes battery, charger, blades, and sandpaper
Cons:- A multi-tool is less suited than a jig saw to longer curved cuts
- Small accessory format is less suited to broad sanding than a dedicated sander
Best for: DIY renovators who want one cordless tool for trim cuts, scraping, and small sanding jobs, with battery and accessories included.
Not ideal for: Buyers who mainly need long, controlled curved cuts or sustained sanding; the DCS334B and DCW210B are more specialized for those tasks.
- Model:DCS356D1
- Power:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed control:3-speed selector and variable-speed trigger
- Accessory system:Quick-Change, tool-free
- Compatibility:Universal adapter for most oscillating tool accessory brands
- Lighting:Bright LED
- Included:Battery, charger, blades, sandpaper
Our verdict“Pick the DCS356D1 kit for varied repair and renovation tasks when you want the battery and basic accessories included.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit (DCK240C2)
The DCK240C2 pairs a drill/driver for holes and general fastening with an impact driver for driving fasteners, so buyers can keep a bit in each tool and switch without constant chuck changes. Its compact dimensions help in confined spaces, and both tools have LED lights with a 20-second delay to keep the work area lit briefly after releasing the trigger. Compared with the single-tool DCD771C2, this kit is the more capable choice for projects mixing drilling with repeated screw driving; the DCD771C2 is the simpler option when a drill is all that is needed. The tradeoff is carrying and maintaining two tools, and the listed kit data does not state battery capacity. It includes two batteries, charger, and bag.
Pros:- Combines a drill/driver and impact driver for different tasks
- Compact tool lengths suit confined work areas
- Both tools include LED lights with a 20-second delay
- Includes two batteries, charger, and bag
Cons:- Two tools take more storage space than the DCD771C2 drill kit
- Battery capacity is not specified in the supplied product data
- Not the brushless combo option in the lineup
Best for: DIYers and new homeowners who regularly alternate between drilling pilot holes and driving fasteners, especially in tight spaces.
Not ideal for: Buyers who only need an occasional drill or prefer a brushless combo kit; the DCD771C2 covers basic drilling with fewer tools.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Impact driver chuck:1/4-inch hex
- Impact driver length:5.55 inches
- Impact driver weight:2.8 lbs
- Drill/driver chuck:1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting
- Drill/driver length:7.5 inches
- Included:Two batteries, charger, bag
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose the DCK240C2 if your projects regularly switch between drilling and driving and you want both tools in one kit.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Drywall Cut-Out Tool, Bare Tool (DCE555B)
The DCE555B is the specialist pick for cutting openings in drywall, where its 26,000 rpm brushless motor and depth guide help make quick, controlled cuts around boxes and fixtures. Its 1.6-pound body is easier to maneuver overhead than a larger general-purpose saw, while tool-free bit changes keep setup simple when the task calls for a different bit size. Compared with the broader-use DCS356B oscillating multi-tool, this tool is built around drywall cutouts rather than a range of scraping and cutting jobs. That focus is an advantage for installers, but limits its usefulness elsewhere. The bare-tool configuration also means you need a compatible 20V MAX battery and charger, and the Tool Connect chip is sold separately.
Pros:- 26,000 rpm brushless motor supports fast, consistent cuts
- Compact 1.6-pound design is easier to guide overhead
- Tool-free bit changes simplify switching between compatible bits
- LED light and depth guide aid visibility and cut control
Cons:- Specialized for cutouts, so it covers fewer tasks than the DCS356B multi-tool
- Battery and charger are not included
- Tool Connect chip is sold separately
Best for: Drywall installers and remodelers who regularly cut openings for electrical boxes, fixtures, or access points and already own DEWALT 20V MAX batteries.
Not ideal for: DIYers seeking one tool for varied cutting, sanding, and scraping, or buyers without a compatible battery and charger.
- Voltage:20 volts
- Motor:Brushless
- Maximum speed:26,000 rpm
- Compatible bit sizes:1/8, 5/32, and 1/4 inches
- Weight:1.6 pounds
- Dimensions:4.5 x 3.5 x 10.38 inches
- Configuration:Bare tool; battery and charger not included
Our verdict“Choose the DCE555B for frequent, controlled drywall openings if you already have a compatible battery and do not need a general-purpose cutter.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 10-Tool Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit (DCK1021D2)
The DCK1021D2 is the lineup’s broadest one-kit entry point, pairing 10 cordless tools with two batteries, a charger, and two bags. Variable-speed controls and quick-change features on select tools give new owners ways to handle different tasks without building a kit one bare tool at a time. Compared with the DCK940D2 nine-tool kit, it adds one tool and includes two bags, though the available description does not identify all 10 tools, making it harder to judge whether every item suits your work. The compact tool depth of 7.6 inches points to some access in tighter spaces, but battery runtime and charging time are unspecified. This set makes most sense for buyers starting a varied 20V MAX collection, not people who need to verify every tool before choosing.
Pros:- Ten cordless tools provide broad task coverage in one kit
- Two batteries and a charger are included
- Two bags provide storage for the kit
- Variable-speed controls and select quick-change features support task flexibility
Cons:- The available product description does not identify all 10 tools
- Battery runtime and charging time are not specified
- A broad kit may include tools that a focused buyer does not need
Best for: Home renovators or tradespeople building a varied DEWALT 20V MAX kit who want tools, batteries, a charger, and storage together.
Not ideal for: Buyers with a specific trade task or who need a confirmed list of every included tool before selecting a kit.
- Power system:20V MAX cordless
- Tools included:10
- Batteries included:2
- Charger included:Yes
- Bags included:2
- Compact tool depth:7.6 inches
- Model:DCK1021D2
Our verdict“Pick the DCK1021D2 to establish a broad 20V MAX collection in one purchase, provided the unspecified tool list suits your work.”
DEWALT 20V MAX 9-Tool Cordless Combo Kit (DCK940D2)
The DCK940D2 earns its place through a specified mix of tools for drilling, fastening, sawing, grinding, and detail work. The lineup includes a compact drill driver, impact driver, reciprocating saw, circular saw, oscillating tool, angle grinder, right-angle drill, LED work light, and Bluetooth speaker. That clearer tool list makes it easier to match the kit to a job than the DCK1021D2, whose description leaves its 10 tools unspecified. Two 2.0Ah batteries and a charger get the set running, but modest battery capacity may mean more frequent swaps during sustained cutting or grinding. The nine separate tools and accessories also take storage space. For crews that need broad coverage from one kit, the range is the draw; buyers who mainly drill and drive may be better served by a smaller combo.
Pros:- Nine specifically identified tools cover several common jobsite tasks
- Two batteries and a charger are included
- Quick-change systems on select tools simplify blade and accessory changes
- Work light and Bluetooth speaker add useful jobsite functions
Cons:- Included batteries are 2.0Ah, which may require more frequent swaps during demanding work
- Nine tools and accessories require substantial storage space
- The breadth of the kit may be excessive for buyers who need only a few tools
Best for: Remodelers or maintenance crews who need a defined assortment of tools for varied jobsite tasks and can manage multiple tools and accessories.
Not ideal for: Buyers focused mostly on drilling and fastening, or those needing longer runtime for sustained high-demand work from each battery.
- Tool count:9
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Drill/driver:1/2-inch compact drill driver, 300 UWO
- Circular saw:6-1/2-inch carbide blade
- Angle grinder:4-1/2 inches, 7,000 rpm
- Right-angle drill:3/8-inch, dual speed 0–650 / 0–2,000 rpm
- Batteries:Two 20V MAX XR 2.0Ah batteries
- Warranty:3-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the DCK940D2 when you need its specified mix of nine tools and accept the storage and battery-runtime tradeoffs.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Blower, 100 CFM, Variable Speed, Bare Tool (DCE100B)
The DCE100B is a small cleanup tool for clearing light debris from work areas, benches, and overhead spots without bringing out a larger blower. Its 100 CFM airflow, three speed settings, and three nozzle attachments give the user control over where air goes and how forcefully it moves. At 2.5 pounds, it is easier to handle in tight or elevated spaces than a bulkier cleanup option, while the trigger lock can reduce the effort of holding the control down. The tradeoff is capacity: unlike the broad task coverage of the DCK940D2 kit, this blower handles one narrow job, and 100 CFM is limited for larger debris piles. It is also sold as a bare tool, so existing DEWALT 20V MAX battery ownership matters.
Pros:- Lightweight 2.5-pound handheld design suits tight cleanup areas
- Three speed settings help control airflow for different tasks
- Trigger lock can reduce finger fatigue during longer clearing sessions
- Three nozzle attachments are included
Cons:- 100 CFM airflow is limited for large or heavy cleanup jobs
- Battery and charger are not included
- Its single-purpose design offers less task range than multi-tool kits such as the DCK940D2
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who need a lightweight blower for small work areas, benches, vehicles, or overhead cleanup.
Not ideal for: Homeowners clearing large yards or heavy debris, and buyers who need a battery and charger included.
- Voltage:20 V
- Airflow capacity:100 CFM
- Maximum air speed:135 mph
- Speed settings:3
- Weight:2.5 pounds
- Dimensions:12.6 x 5.7 x 7.85 inches
- Included attachments:3 nozzle attachments
- Configuration:Bare tool; battery and charger not included
Our verdict“Choose the DCE100B for light, precise cleanup in compact spaces if you already own a compatible battery.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Oscillating Multi-Tool, Tool Only (DCS356B)
The DCS356B suits finish work and repair tasks where control matters as much as cutting speed. Its three speed settings and dual-grip variable-speed trigger let users tailor the motion to the material and task, while the brushless motor is designed to provide up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor. Quick-Change accessory swaps make it easier to move between the two included wood-cutting blades and compatible attachments without a wrench. Compared with the DCE555B drywall cut-out tool, this multi-tool covers more kinds of work, including cuts and scraping with suitable accessories, but it is less specialized for fast, repeated drywall openings. The kit includes only two wood-cutting blades, and the bare-tool package has no battery or charger.
Pros:- Brushless motor is designed for up to 57% more runtime than a brushed motor
- Three speed settings and variable-speed trigger allow controlled operation
- Tool-free Quick-Change system speeds accessory swaps
- LED work light improves visibility at the cut
Cons:- Only two wood-cutting blades are specified as included
- Battery and charger are not included
- Less specialized for repeated drywall cutouts than the DCE555B
Best for: Remodelers and repair-focused DIYers who need a controllable cordless tool for detail cuts and other oscillating-tool tasks.
Not ideal for: Drywall installers making frequent cutouts who would benefit from the DCE555B’s dedicated design, or buyers without a compatible battery.
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Speed settings:3
- Oscillations per minute:0–13,000 / 0–17,000 / 0–20,000 OPM
- Accessory change system:Tool-free Quick-Change
- Included accessories:Two wood-cutting blades
- Lighting:LED
- Configuration:Tool only; battery and charger not included
Our verdict“Choose the DCS356B for adaptable, controlled detail work if you have a 20V MAX battery and can supply the accessories your tasks require.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Combo Kit, 2 Tools with 2 Batteries, Charger, and Bag (DCK277D2)
I’d put this combo kit near the top for someone who needs both drilling and fastening tools and is starting without a compatible battery setup. The drill and impact driver arrive with two batteries, a charger, and a bag, so the kit is ready to cover varied jobs without assembling pieces separately. Its 7.6-inch compact design and ergonomic grip suit cabinet work and other tight spaces; the delayed LED gives a little extra visibility after releasing the trigger. Compared with the DCK240C2, this model specifies brushless motors, while both packages cover the same core drill-and-driver roles. The tradeoff is limited performance detail: the supplied information gives no battery capacity or torque figures, so buyers with demanding fastening needs have less to compare before choosing.
Pros:- Includes both a cordless drill and impact driver
- Two batteries and a charger support work with a spare ready
- Compact 7.6-inch design helps in tight work areas
- Variable-speed trigger and ergonomic grip support control
Cons:- Battery capacity is not specified
- No drill or impact driver performance figures are provided
Best for: Home renovators and DIYers who need a compact drill-and-driver pair with batteries and a charger in one kit
Not ideal for: Buyers choosing by stated torque or battery runtime, since those figures are not provided
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Tools included:Cordless drill and impact driver
- Batteries included:2
- Length:7.6 inches front to back
- Chuck:Quick-release hex chuck
- Lighting:LED with 20-second trigger-release delay
- Warranty:3-year limited warranty
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want two compact brushless tools and the core batteries and charger together.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless 3-Speed Impact Driver, 1/4-Inch (DCF845B), Tool Only
When the job calls for repeated fastening and control over how force is delivered, I’d choose this impact driver over the broader DCK277D2 combo. Its three speed settings work alongside the variable-speed trigger, giving users more ways to moderate driving across different fasteners. The brushless motor is rated for up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque and 3,400 RPM, and its integrated three-LED light helps keep the work area visible. Compared with a drill-and-driver kit, this is a more focused choice for someone who already owns a drill and compatible 20V MAX batteries. The main catch is the bare-tool setup: battery and charger are not included. It is also a fastening specialist, so buyers needing one tool for drilling and driving should look at a combo instead.
Pros:- Brushless motor rated up to 1,825 in-lbs of torque
- Three speed settings plus a variable-speed trigger
- Up to 3,400 RPM for quick fastening
- Three-LED work light illuminates the work area
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Focused on fastening rather than serving as a drill-and-driver kit
Best for: DEWALT 20V MAX owners who regularly drive fasteners and want multiple speed settings for control
Not ideal for: First-time tool buyers who need a drill, batteries, and charger in one purchase
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor:Brushless
- Chuck size:1/4 inch
- Torque:Up to 1,825 in-lbs
- Speed:Up to 3,400 RPM
- Speed settings:3
- Work light:Integrated 3-LED
- Configuration:Tool only; battery and charger not included
Our verdict“Pick this impact driver if you already have 20V MAX batteries and want more speed control than a basic driver offers.”
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Cordless 1/2-Inch Impact Wrench (DCF900B), Tool Only
For stubborn lug nuts and demanding construction or farm work, the DCF900B’s 1,400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque puts it in a different category from the DCF845B impact driver. That extra force is the reason to choose this 1/2-inch impact wrench: it is suited to high-resistance fastening where a compact driver may not be the right tool. Four speed modes and a variable-speed trigger give the operator ways to manage output, while Precision Wrench control is intended to help with fastening and removal. An LED and shock-absorbing battery connection add practical jobsite features. Its strength also defines its limits: it is a specialized, substantial-force tool, not the everyday drill-and-driver coverage of the DCK277D2. The battery is sold separately, so existing 20V MAX owners have the clearest path to using it.
Pros:- Up to 1,030 ft-lbs of fastening torque
- Up to 1,400 ft-lbs of breakaway torque for stubborn fasteners
- Four modes and a variable-speed trigger provide output control
- LED work light and shock-absorbing battery connection
Cons:- Battery is sold separately
- Specialized impact wrench has less general-purpose versatility than a drill-and-driver combo
Best for: Automotive technicians, equipment mechanics, and construction workers handling high-torque fasteners
Not ideal for: DIYers seeking a general-purpose drill or a compact driver for smaller fasteners
- Power source:20V MAX cordless
- Motor:Brushless
- Anvil:1/2-inch hog ring
- Maximum fastening torque:1,030 ft-lbs
- Maximum breakaway torque:1,400 ft-lbs
- Speed settings:4 modes
- Lighting:On-tool LED work light
- Battery:Sold separately
Our verdict“Choose this wrench for heavy-duty fasteners when you already have a compatible battery and need more force than an impact driver provides.”
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Cordless Sealed Head Ratchet, 3/8″ and 1/2″ (DCF510B, Bare Tool)
For automotive work where a powered ratchet can reach fasteners more conveniently than a full-size impact wrench, I’d favor the DCF510B. Its interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch anvils let mechanics cover two common drive sizes without switching tools, and the sealed head and solvent-resistant housing suit oily service environments. At 75 ft-lbs of torque and up to 300 RPM, it trades the DCF900B’s much higher breakaway force for a ratchet format that better fits routine access and controlled tightening. That makes it a different kind of automotive pick, not a substitute for breaking loose the most stubborn fasteners. The 3.1-pound weight and bare-tool configuration are also worth factoring in: you’ll need a compatible battery, and the stated speed is modest for powered removal.
Pros:- Interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch anvils cover common socket drives
- Sealed head and glass-filled nylon housing resist oils and solvents
- Brushless motor delivers up to 75 ft-lbs of torque
- LED light and trigger lock aid visibility and control
Cons:- Battery and charger are not included
- Up to 300 RPM is modest for powered fastener removal
- Lower torque than the DCF900B limits its role on stubborn fasteners
Best for: Automotive mechanics and hands-on vehicle owners who work with both 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch sockets
Not ideal for: Users who need high breakaway torque for seized fasteners or want batteries included
- Voltage:20V MAX
- Motor type:Brushless
- Maximum torque:75 ft-lbs
- No-load speed:0–300 RPM
- Drive sizes:Interchangeable 3/8-inch and 1/2-inch
- Weight:3.1 pounds
- Length:1.25 feet
- Battery:Not included; bare tool
Our verdict“Pick this ratchet for routine automotive fasteners and tight access, and keep a higher-torque wrench for seized hardware.”
DEWALT Cordless Screwdriver, 4V USB Rechargeable with 12-pc Bit Set, LED Light, FLEXDRIVE Control (DWHT66719)
For furniture assembly, cabinets, and small household fixes, this 4V screwdriver is the light-duty alternative to the 20V MAX tools in this group. Its six torque settings and soft start help reduce the chance of stripping small screws, while the FLEXDRIVE collar gives the user slide-to-drive control. The package also includes 12 long bits, a quick-load collet, and an onboard light, making it a convenient kit for keeping close at hand. Compared with the DCK277D2, it is smaller and designed for precision tasks, but it cannot take on the same drilling or heavy fastening work. The integral battery recharges by USB in about 60 minutes and is rated for up to 680 screws per charge; users who need more force will still need a manual finish beyond its powered torque.
Pros:- Six-stage torque adjustment and soft start help protect small screws
- Compact format is easy to keep nearby for household fixes
- USB recharge takes about 60 minutes
- Includes 12 two-inch bits and a quick-load collet
Cons:- 4V power is not suited to heavy-duty applications
- Manual finishing may be needed beyond 44 in-lbs of powered torque
- Integral battery cannot be swapped for a spare
Best for: Apartment dwellers, furniture assemblers, and homeowners handling frequent small screwdriving jobs
Not ideal for: Builders and mechanics who need a drill or enough powered torque for heavy fasteners
- Voltage:4V
- Maximum powered torque:44 in-lbs (5 Nm)
- Maximum manual torque:124 in-lbs (14 Nm)
- No-load speed:Up to 360 RPM
- Torque settings:6-stage adjustment
- Battery:2Ah integral battery
- Recharge time:60 minutes via USB
- Bits included:12 two-inch bits
Our verdict“Choose this screwdriver for controlled, small-scale screwdriving when a 20V drill-and-driver kit would be more tool than you need.”

How We Picked
I ranked these tools by how clearly they meet a buyer need, how much work they can cover, and what a buyer must add or give up to use them. For kits, I weighed the usefulness of the tool mix, included batteries and charger, and whether the set works as a practical starting point. For individual tools, I considered the value of their specialized function, the convenience of the design, and whether the task is common enough to justify owning a dedicated tool.
The order favors versatile, ready-to-use choices before tools aimed at narrower jobs, with kit breadth balanced against cost and redundancy. Brushless construction and XR features help where sustained work or control can matter, but they do not automatically make a bare tool the right choice for every buyer. I also considered platform fit: a buyer who already owns compatible 20V MAX batteries may prefer a bare tool, while a new user may get more value from a kit that includes power and charging essentials.
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best DeWalt Tools
Before choosing a DeWalt tool, I’d map the work you expect to do onto the batteries, accessories, and tool types you already own. These decisions can prevent a capable tool from becoming an incomplete or redundant purchase.
Start With the Jobs You Repeat
List the tasks you do most often, then identify the tool that handles the bottleneck. A drill is broadly useful, while a jigsaw, drywall cut-out tool, or impact wrench serves a more defined purpose. Buying a specialist tool for a one-time project can leave it unused afterward. Renting, borrowing, or using an existing tool may make more sense for occasional work. For recurring work, a dedicated tool can save time and make the task easier to control. Let frequency and task demands guide the choice before looking at the largest kit.
Check the Battery Platform and Kit Contents
Most tools in this roundup use DeWalt’s 20V MAX platform, but the 4V screwdriver is a separate system. A bare tool can be a sensible addition if you already have compatible batteries and a charger. If you are starting from scratch, account for those items before comparing bundles. Check the number and type of batteries, charger, bag, and included accessories rather than relying on the tool count in a kit name. More tools can mean broader coverage, though some may duplicate equipment you own or rarely use. A smaller kit with the right essentials may be easier to put to work.
Choose Brushless for the Workload, Not the Label
Brushless models are often positioned for buyers who want efficient power delivery and tools suited to frequent use. That can make them attractive for regular fastening, cutting, or sanding. For occasional repairs, a simpler model may cover the same basic need without paying for capability you will seldom use. Compare the complete tool setup, including battery, charger, and accessories, because those affect readiness as well as the tool itself. Consider control features too: speed settings can be useful when the material or fastener calls for restraint. Match the specification to your workload rather than treating one feature as a universal upgrade.
Avoid Paying for Redundant Tools
Combo kits can be a convenient way to establish a workshop, but a high tool count does not guarantee a good fit. Before choosing a 9-tool or 10-tool bundle, mark which included tools you expect to use within the next year. Check whether you already own tools for the same jobs, including older models that still meet your needs. A focused drill and impact driver set may cover more real work for some households than a broad bundle. On the other hand, buyers outfitting a varied work area may benefit from several tools arriving together. The right bundle is the one whose contents match planned tasks.
Budget for Accessories and Safe Operation
The tool itself may not be the end of the setup. Jigsaws need suitable blades, sanders need compatible abrasives, and oscillating tools need task-appropriate attachments. Specialty tools may also call for the right fasteners or sockets. Check what the package includes and what you will need to source before the first job. Match accessories to the material and follow the tool’s instructions for protective equipment and safe operation. This planning helps avoid buying a tool that cannot handle the work you have in mind without additional parts.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I buy a DeWalt bare tool or a kit?
I’d choose a bare tool if I already own compatible 20V MAX batteries and a charger, especially when adding a specialist model to an existing setup. A kit is usually more straightforward for a first purchase because it can include the battery, charger, and storage needed to get started. Compare the full contents rather than assuming every kit includes the same essentials. If the tool will be used away from a workshop, having a second battery may also matter. The best format depends on what you already own and how soon you need the tool ready to work.
Is a large DeWalt combo kit a better first purchase than a drill and driver set?
A large kit makes sense when you have several different jobs planned and lack the tools to handle them. A drill and impact driver set is a more focused starting point for common drilling and fastening tasks. Before opting for a larger bundle, check each tool against work you expect to do and note any overlap with equipment you own. Also compare included batteries and charging gear, since a large selection of tools still needs enough power to keep working. Choose breadth when you have a clear use for it; otherwise, a smaller kit may leave you with less unused gear.
Can I use 20V MAX batteries with the 4V cordless screwdriver?
No. The 4V screwdriver in this roundup is a USB rechargeable tool, separate from DeWalt’s 20V MAX battery platform. That makes it a compact option for light household fastening, but it will not share batteries with the 20V drill, driver, or specialty tools listed here. If sharing batteries across tools is a priority, focus your setup on 20V MAX models. If you mainly want a small driver for occasional screws, the separate charging system may be an acceptable tradeoff. Check each tool’s power system before buying accessories or planning a shared battery collection.
When is a dedicated drywall cut-out tool worth owning?
A drywall cut-out tool is most useful when openings for outlets, switches, or similar work come up regularly. Its specialized purpose can make repeated cut-outs more convenient than trying to adapt a general-purpose tool. For a single renovation, a buyer may have better reason to prioritize a drill, jigsaw, or multi-tool that can serve more jobs afterward. Consider whether you do enough drywall work to justify a dedicated model and whether you already have a compatible battery. The choice is about how often that specific task recurs, not just whether the tool can perform it.
Which DeWalt tools make the most sense for automotive work?
The impact wrench and sealed head ratchet are the clearest automotive-focused picks in this roundup, with the right choice depending on the fasteners and access you encounter. An impact wrench is aimed at demanding fastening tasks, while a ratchet’s form may suit work where reaching into a tighter area matters. Neither replaces checking that the tool and socket setup fit the job. For occasional vehicle maintenance, a general drill and driver may be more useful across other household projects. If automotive work is frequent, compare the specialty tools’ drive sizes and intended tasks with your existing sockets and workflow.
Conclusion
I’d choose the DCK240C2 drill and impact driver kit as the best overall starting point because it pairs two broadly useful tools. For a focused purchase, the DCD771C2 drill kit is a practical value option, while the 10-tool combo kit suits buyers outfitting a workshop who can use its wider selection. Beginners who want a simple household driver may prefer the 4V USB screwdriver for light fastening, though it cannot replace a 20V drill for demanding jobs. For frequent specialty work, I’d match the brushless XR tools to cutting, sanding, or fastening needs, and select the blower, drywall cut-out tool, impact wrench, or ratchet only when that task is part of the regular workload. Your existing batteries and the jobs you repeat most often should settle the final choice.
Fall yard work Picks
leaf blowers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.


















